Rambert Intensive: Day 5|Dreams That Glitter


Final day!!

We started with contemporary with Kate again this morning; it was nice to have her back, all the phrases came flooding back…kind of!! We did all the phrases we’d learnt with her on the right and left in smaller groups once we’d done some warm up exercises. Trying to get energy out of us was proving to be a bit tricky by this point of the week… but once we warmed up we got back into it I think! We then learnt another new phrase and did a mini task – to take 12 movements from anything we’d done in her classes over the week and put them together to make our own phrases in groups of 2 or 3 which we then performed to each other. Fantastic way to start the day!

After our break we had rehearsals for the sharing that was this afternoon. We had half an hour on each – both pieces of repertoire and then choreography. We recapped and cleaned everything and set formations and ran everything start to finish with a few minor changes here and there. Estela changed a bit of the piece so that I didn’t have to do the section that hurt my foot yesterday, even though it felt a lot better today she said it was better not to take the risk which was the best idea.

At lunch there was a few nerves going around in preparation for the sharing, I went over to the National Theatre area to meet my friend Willa who I met at Bluewater 2 years ago (!!) and it was so great to see her! Even if I was extremely gross and sweaty! It was again finding the challenge of eating enough to fill my stomach without feeling like I would throw up when I starting moving again, I think I’ve just about got the hang of it! Plenty of smaller snacks throughout the day works much better than trying to eat a ‘meal’ with only 1 hour off dancing.

So before the sharing began we had about half an hour to do some final preparations do everything one more time. We performed The Strange Charm of Mother Nature rep first, then Terra Incognita, and finally our choreography piece which has a really happy, chilled vibe and is just really about enjoying ourselves, the music was quite upbeat and fun as well, I certainly enjoyed it (I hope that came across). I wasn’t really nervous at all as it didn’t feel like a ‘show’ as such, it was just sharing what we’d been working on over the week and considering we’d achieved all of that in just a few days was enough of an accomplishment, it didn’t need to be perfect.

We then had the opportunity to watch the Advanced group’s work, which was absolutely amazing. I will have to try and look up which pieces they studied because I really liked the phrases they did, and they seemed to have put a lot more together than we did I think! There were a lot of dancers who were either in the middle of their training or had dance degrees etc in that group so the standard was pretty high, they all did really well. *claps*

So that’s it!! The week has gone so quickly and I think I’ve just got used to the routines of everything and settled in, I think today everyone started talking to each other a lot more and seemed more relaxed and like we knew each other. I didn’t even ache that much today! I could definitely get used to doing that all the time! And I definitely want to do more Rambert Intensives.

Tomorrow I think I’ll do a general review post of the whole course and everything I’ve learnt!

What do you think?